Thread: Exposure to fifth's disease (slapped cheek)

Thanks

Default Exposure to fifth's disease (slapped cheek)

HI Everyone;

I am looking for information on whether or not I should be taking extreme precautions to avoid exposure to fifth's disease. Fifth's disease is often called "slapped cheek syndrom" and is a mild viral disease occurring mainly in early childhood, characterized by fever, a rosy-red rash on the cheeks that often spreads to the trunk and limbs, and usually arthritis and malaise. Also called erythema infectiosum.

I work in a school and a co-worker has it. I thought I would be fine. I know that pregnant women especially in their first trimester must avoid and our company policy is removing them from the workplace for the period of incubation. I have now been asked if I will be okay and I am not sure. I plan to call my doctor's office but am not sure my GP would know...and I have never called my rheumy (seen him once for dx). I think I will call there though.

Read more: http://www.answers.com/topic/fifth-d...#ixzz1KpvbIkGG

"The virus can also cause worsening symptoms in individuals who suffer from the autoimmune disease, systemic lupus erythematosus. "

So does anyone know if I should be extra careful? I assumed since germs, etc are a daily occupational hazard that I shouldn't worry but now I don't know.
    Thanks
    Bunny

Sarah

tgal is offline Super Moderator Super ModeratorEmperor of the Solar System
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,743 Times in 1,212 Posts

Hi there! My daughter had it when she was young so I know what it is. Although I am not a doctor I think it would depend on what meds you are taking. If you are taking things that suppress your immune system then I know you have to be very careful about all illnesses. I agree with you though, I think a call to the Rhuemy would be the best option! Keep us posted because this is something we all need to know!
    Mari