Thread: sun protection clothing

Thanks

Default sun protection clothing

I am working on protecting myself from the sun. I got my sunglasses handy, need some wrap around to deal with the wind. I have my eye drops for dry eyes though they are not the best. I'm still tryng to find a better brand. I have figured out my eye drainage duct is sometimes swollen so I drip tears and some times it just painfully dry.

I have learned from reading the Sjogrens site that my poor temperature control may be related. I just don't seem to sweat so I can't cool my body. I blamed it on menopause. I have been telling the doctor for 4 years I can't handle really hot or mild hot weather. My hot flashes are a dry heat, lol.

My skin sometimes feels painful, new symptom, of course it's dry but it sometimes feels like a sun burn.

So I am on a hunt to find some long sleeve shirts that will keep me cool and protected in the sun. Has anyone found one that works? I run on the very hot side so I don't know how I'll feel all covered up. I have REI near me so I can at least try one on. I have a hard time with anything around my neck due to the swollen thyroid.

I am also searching for a sun hat. I saw one that has a long tail like panel to cover the back of the neck.

I did get the sun screen but it's so chalky and it takes a lot to wash it off. It does feel good like I'm under a shade of white. I'll try some thinner brands.

Though I don't break out in sores I do notice I feel very unwell after long sun exposure.

It's garden season weather so I hopt to do some work out side. I will also work more in the evening when it's cool and dusky.

Teresa in CO still waiitng for blood results.

tgal is offline Super Moderator Super ModeratorEmperor of the Solar System
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,742 Times in 1,211 Posts