Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hows do you feel?

Thanks

Default Hows do you feel?

I have a mild condition of antiphosphilipid syndrome, but my mum suffers badly from SLE. I'm studying art at uni and am doing a project based around lupus and the effects it has on its sufferers, and when I began researching it I was shocked to realise how few people who don't have lupus have even heard of it. I would be hugely greatful if anyone would be able to reply to this thread about their experiences with lupus; for example, how you feel about it, how it's changed your life, how you cope with it and how you felt when you were diagnosed. This would be greatly appreciated, by anyone suffering or anyone who knows sufferers. I am aiming to make lupus more widely known, or at least by those who will see my work, and the more replies and opinions I have, the more accurate my work will be in representing lupus sufferers, so the more the better!
    Thanks for your time guys!

Thanks

Lupus makes me feel weighted down, constantly have a lead blanket holding me down. Wrapped in a fog. When I first found out I thought it was the end of my life (I was 16). One of the first things my doctor told me was that I would have to plan to have children, because I would be a high risk pregnancy. Freaked me out becaues I was only 16 and not planning to have kids anytime soon, but had always planned on a big family and I saw that vision crash down right then and there. I've always had an interest in biology, and have decided to become a Rheumatologist because of this. Dont know if thats what you were looking for but I hope your project turns out amazing =) I think its a great idea.
    "A bad cold wouldn't be so annoying if it weren't for the advice of our friends."~ Kin Hubbard

Diagnosed: SLE, Raynauds, InterstitialLung Disease, GERD, Myositis, Vasculitis, Possible Sjogrens.