Thread: my friends think i'm 21, but i feel 90

Hybrid View

Thanks

Default my friends think i'm 21, but i feel 90

i'm 21 and was diagnosed with systemic lupus 3 years ago. since then i've been told i have fibromyalgia as well. i'm currently in my fourth year of college taking a reduced course load.
    aside from the health problems, i've really had a tough time not holding myself up to the same standards i had for myself before i got sick. i expect my energy level to be the same, but it's not. physically i feel much older than 21 and have a hard time relating that feeling to any of my friends.
    i'm glad to have found this group.

Saysusie is offline Super Moderator Super ModeratorEmperor of the Universe
    Blog Entries
    Thanks

We are glad that you found us too :lol:
    My daughter went through many of the same things as you. She, too, was young and in college when she was suffering with the debilitating fatigue, achy, swollen joints, etc. She was a professional dancer and had to give that up entirely!
    Many of her friends would call me (since I also had Lupus) to ask me how they could help her. I truly appreciated that and I purchased a book for all of them that helped them to understand her and her symptoms. I would say that, for your dearest friends, educate them about Lupus, its symptoms, its treatments and how it affects you. You might be surprised at how understanding and accommodating they will be!! You are not after sympathy - just understanding!!
    I wish you the very best. Join us as often as you wish, we are here to give you comfort, support and information!

Peace and Blessings
    Saysusie

Thanks

Hi Slamfast - so glad you've joined us!