Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New here and newly diagnosed

Thanks

Default New here and newly diagnosed

Hello Everyone!

I am looking forward too "meeting" others in this forum.

I was diagnosed a month ago and I think I am dealing well with things. It is so nice to know that it "isn't all in my head" and that I "am not just lazy".

I know I like to read others stories, so here is mine.

About 10 years ago, I developed what I thought was a sun allergy. I also had a facial rash, digestive issues and an allergic reaction to medication all in the same summer. I was a student at the time and the clinic doctors either explained away each individual symptom or sent me to different doctors so the issues were dealt with in isolation. About 7 years ago I was told I had mono (which I now know was likely a false positive). I was extremely fatigued and had to think about getting up to say go to the bathroom for about 20 min before I could actually get my body to do it. Interestingly I have felt the exact same way at least 7 times since then (for months at a time). In the last five years, I have had two miscarriages and then with the help of an understanding doctor who let me try taking aspirin and prometrium saying they couldn't hurt, I gave birth to a son. His birth signalled the increasing severity of my symptoms. I have had even greater fatigue and lethargy to the point where I asked if I might have PPD when he was 9 months old. I have mouth ulcers, strange rashes, almost daily migraines, aches and pains like I had a fever even though I didn't, stiff joints, etc. I have also had low WBC count and at least one incidence of protein in my urine. Thankfully last summer a family physician put two and two together. She sent me for a series of blood tests "just to rule out anything auto-immune, like lupus" before she sent me to an allergist for my sun allergy.