Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lupus at 19

Thanks

Default Lupus at 19

Hi, I'm new to this support group, but i am hoping to get a lot of love and support here. I am 19 years old and don't know how to deal with having Lupus. I fear i am falling into depression or i may have already im just choosing to ignore the signs because i don't want to be sad. I was told i had lupus when i was 16 but that it was only on my skin because the only symptom i was showing was the butterfly rash. I had never had any pain or a flair up until the end of Jan 2010. I had my first ever flair up. It was so bad i was in the hospital for a week. i had to drop out of my first year of college. My doctor said it was best if i took the year off, so that is what i did i spent all of 2010 at home with Lupus. I thinks the worst part was not getting sick. i think it was not being able to do the things i did before. I cried a lot in 2010 but i don't what to cry anymore. Im tired of feeling alone and having no one to talk to is not every helpful. I need to talk to people who know what im going through. Most of all i need your help to show me what i can do to make living with lupus at 19 more bearable.
    PLEASE HELP ME!!!
    thank you in advance

Thanks

Hello ariela,
    Welcome to the WHL and you get all the love and support you need from our large family, as we're all suffering like yourself but in different ways.
    I was born with it but never diagnosed till 2yrs back and was told this year i have Lupus and refering depression and being low i'm like yourself but there's so many member's who cope well around the disease and you'll get comment's from them and full support in due course.
    I had the butterfly rash in my late 20s and i'm now 42 it was sore but took such a good while to heal up, it's the raynauds disease which causes that and flare ups of rashes.