Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Chest Pain

Thanks

Default Chest Pain

I am a newbie here, so hello all!

Monday morning (at about 2:30am) I woke up with horrible chest pain right in the middle of my chest. It felt almost like a muscle spasm and the pain actually woke me up. This has happened before and I went to the emergency room thinking I was having a heart attack. (It is THAT painful) The ER doctor ran an EKG and told me I was too young to have a heart attack (36). What a crock. Anyway...I didn't go to the ER this time because I also had a migraine and didn't want to sit there just to be dismissed again. ( I have an appointment with my Rheumy on Friday)

My question is... Have any of you experienced this and, if so, what did you rhuemy do about it? I read that it can be anything from GERD to heart problems. I'm a little scared. I think I will push Dr to recommend a cardiologist just to make sure and to put my mind at ease.

Any info you could share would be great!

Cyndee

Saysusie is offline Super Moderator Super ModeratorEmperor of the Universe
    Blog Entries
    Thanks

Hi Tumbleweed:
    Yes, what you are experiencing is not uncommon and many people with Lupus suffer from chest pains for serveral reason. Both my daughter and I had chest pains. Hers was due to pericarditis. Here is a brief explanation of pericarditis:
    Pericarditis is an inflammation of the sac around the heart, it is the most common heart involvement in people with lupus. This condition occurs when antigen-antibody complexes-also known as immune complexes-are made during active lupus and cause inflammation within the pericardium.
    Symptoms are sharp chest pain that can change with changes in the body's position and frequently may be relieved by leaning forward slightly; this chest pain may feel like a heart attack! Occasionally, shortness of breath can occur.