Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What jobs do you guys have?

Blog Entries
    Thanks

Question What jobs do you guys have?

I graduated last year and am heading into college this fall. My current employer at the deli I work at is AMAZING. She's pretty much an angel. She has worked with me and changed my schedule countless times as I was newly diagnosed and had no clue what I could and couldn't handle. Even now that I've found a schedule that suits my current needs, she will usually come up to me during my shifts and ask me if I'm doing alright and to let her know if I need anything. I know I've been very blessed.

So it makes me a bit nervous to know that I'll be leaving that job next year and trying to find a job as a medical office assistant..which is what I'm going to college for. I know I've been very blessed and not many are as lucky as I am when it comes to employers. I hope MOA will be a job that I can handle even if my employer is a jerk. I figured this is a job where I can sit down so it should be okay.

What jobs have you guys pursued? I've been trying to do some research and figure out what else I could do. I've considered going into freelance writing full-time rather than just writing an article every few months. I've also considered going back to piano lessons and then taking my teachers exam so I can teach. Do any of you work from home? What do you do?

Thanks

Hi and welcome! I was diagnosed with SLE, Sjogren's, and Reynaud's starting in 2006, but I believe I had them for about 8 years before that. I'm really sorry you are going through all of this, it's certainly not fun, but I'm glad you have such a wonderful boss - they are hard to find!

I'm a teacher, and it's a good career for me most of the time. What helps a lot as far as my health is that I have the summers off to regain my health again, along with breaks during the year which help a lot. (spring break, Christmas break, etc.)