Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I just wanted to introduce myself...

Thanks

Default I just wanted to introduce myself...

Hi all!

I am so glad that I stumbled upon this forum. It is so nice to know that I am not alone (even if I don't have a dx yet).

So after a year of having MS I have recently been told that I do not have MS. (I like to joke that I have been cured!!) The docs are now telling me that I may have Lupus. Fantastic!! I have gone through the regular riamarole- you know, loads of blood work, appointments, I even had a skin biopsy. So far, everything has come back negative (still waiting on the skin biopsy).

All that being said, I have two questions. Given that Lupus is mainly a clinical diagnosis, how can I ever trust that they have gotten it right this time? I know that I will never be 100% sure, I just don't want another misdiagnosis...

Also, will I ever feel better again??? I just don't know what to do!! I have had to stop working (I was a teacher), I can no longer drive, I am feeling totally isolated and barely get out of bed many days! I just feel awful! Doesn't Lupus flare and remit? Does anyone just feel awful all the time for a year on end?

Thank you so much for reading. I feel a little better!

Blog Entries
    Thanks

Hi Woods!!!
    Welcome to WHL. I like Newbie smilies you found and put in your post. You have some good questions and I can't answer all of them, but I can say that Lupus, like many of it's "cousin" autoimmune diseases and disorders, does inded flare and remit and that these flares can last from a very short period of time to a very long period of time. I am sure some more members will be along soon to help you find your answers and that some of them have also experienced extremely long flares. I have had flares up to 3 months or so and know how much I hated that, I can imagine how awful you are feeling after a year of flariness. BTW - What do you teach? I was a teacher too and taught pre-k, k and 1st grades.
    Sandy