Thread: Weght Gain

Thanks

Default Weght Gain

Any one have any suggestions on how to lose weight while on 10mg of prednisone.

Thanks

As a nurse, I hate to tell you this, but any amount of Pred will most likely cause weight gain and possibly a round face. It's a matter of weighing up the pro's and con's.

Best of luck,

Claire x

Thanks

do u mean that no matter how little you eat you cannot lose weight while on prednisone? i'm on 5mg..and i'm finding it extremely difficult to lose weight

Thanks

Yeah does that mean no matter what amount of predisoine you are on, there is no way to lose that weight? I am on 7mg.
    You too shall overcome this!

Saysusie is offline Super Moderator Super ModeratorEmperor of the Universe
    Blog Entries
    Thanks

Weight gain is usually the most dreaded side–effects of prednisone use, incurred to some degree by nearly all patients who take them. The amount of weight gain varies from individual to individual. In addition to causing weight gain, prednisone leads to a redistribution of body fat to places that are undesirable, particularly the face, back of the neck, and abdomen.
    Some of the effects of prednisone use are: weight gain, increased appetite, loss of muscle mass and bone density, increased fatty deposits, reduction in zinc, Vitamin D, and C levels; loss of potassium, fluid retention, gastric problems, hypertension, high cholesterol, and hampering the body’s ability to handle blood sugars. Not everyone will experience the same side effects or all of the side effects. There are some things (nutritionally and physically) that you can do that might help with the weight gain.