Thread: Hello from a newbie

Thanks

Default Hello from a newbie

I just came across this site and registered and just wanted to say hello.

I was diagnosed with hemolytic anemia and other blood problems in 1991 and officially with Lupus in 2000. I had things under control for a while with nutrition. Over the past few months things have been flaring up again and over the last month the you know what hit the fan. So, I'm back on Prednisone, Placquenil etc. I'm also doing nutritional stuff and would be interested in talking to anyone about that aspect of keeping the Lupus in tow.

I am a salesman. I guess I have to say that as that's how I make most of my money. I'm also an actor but that's been in check recently. The only thing you might have seen me in is a Honda commercial.

I guess I am lucky as I have an awesome wife who understands what is happening and works with me to get a handle on this. Having support is major.

I hope I can not only get more support here, but more importantly, give what support I can. This site seems to be geared toward that, trying to keep things positive.

Anyway, enough of my blabbing........Hi!

Thanks

Hi Andyman!

Hmmm....wonder if I've seen that honda commercial!

I too have relied on supplements and nutrituion to help me stay healthier. I have been on plaquenil for a couple years, so far have been able to avoid prednisone. Other than basic multi and B vitamins, I take
    fish oil twice a day
    800 vitamin D
    400 vitamin E

and mixed with a bit of water in the morning -
    ground flax - about 2 tablespoons
    turmeric - a teaspoon
    ginger - ditto
    cinnamon - 1/2 teaspoon
    cocoa powder - 1/2 teaspoon

Yes, that's an acquired taste, but I'm sure the turmeric plus the flax and fish oil have had a hand in reducing pain and increasing my energy. the cinnamon is for cholesterol, but helps with pain as well.

You're fortunate to have a wonderful support at home - it can make all the difference.