Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Where were you on this day?

rob is offline Super Moderator Super ModeratorEmperor of the World
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,105 Times in 628 Posts

Default Where were you on this day?

Hi everyone,

I was sitting here pondering the events of this day eight years ago, and was wondering where all of you were on 9/11/01, and what you were doing on that day. This is where I was-

I was in my office when one of my employees came in and said something really odd had just happened in NYC. A couple of my guys were taking a break and turned on the TV in the break area. The first tower had been hit, and being a pilot myself, I found it very unlikely that what I was seeing was an accident. I had recently written an article in a defense publication analyzing the Bin laden terrorist group Al-Qaeda. I spoke of their adoption of the tactic where they hit two targets simultaneously as was done in the embassy bombings in Central Africa.

It crossed my mind that if this is a terrorist attack, and it's Al-Qaeda, then this is only the first target. I just started to convince myself that I was just reading too much into this when the second plane hit on live tv with every camera in New York trained on the WTC towers. Never before have I ever wanted to be so very wrong about something, but unfortunately, I wasn't. The phone rang and it was my father. He was one of the founding members of the Skymarshals and spent much of his career as an undercover armed Federal Air Marshal traveling on what were considered high risk passenger flights in various parts of the world. He was shocked to say the least.