Thread: Advice - MTX injections

Thanks

Default Advice - MTX injections

Hi everyone! I've been quiet for quite some time now b/c my life the past months have been revolved around school and sleep. I had months worth of work to complete in a very short time (became very behind a while back due to not feeling well), and I needed to graduate. So, after a very busy and incredibly stressful couple months (w/ the help of adderall for synthetic energy), I graduated w/ honors!! I haven't had this much free time from school for almost 2 years, since I was getting caught up last summer. It's a nice break.

Anyway, I really need some insight. I start college in the fall (Pre-med), and I barely made it through this year in school w/ my health, so I made it very clear to my rheum. that things need to change, so we have 2 months to experiment. He offered a few months ago for me to start MTX injections, and I told him I would consider starting it in the summer.

Well, I see him Monday. I need to feel more normal and better for college. I am currently on Plaquenil and Prednisone for suspected SLE, both of which I have responded positively to.
    I am hesitant to begin immunosuppressants, primarily b/c I have not had any blood work come back abnormal since I became sick (all AI tests normal, etc.) So, he has been basing his thoughts on my symptoms and response to medications. As far as I am concerned, I am still in diagnosis limbo.

If you were in my position, would you give mtx a try? How dangerous is it? Are side effects from the injections bad?

Thanks, and I am glad to be back!

Thanks

Wow..it has been a spell Gisele. I thought of you and have sent a shout out here and there...hugs.

I don't have any experience with MTX, but have contemplated it like you in the pass. I haven't explored it passed the thoughts...

Many people here use it..on Mondays. Check out the threads...I believe there are like 4 or 5 current threads on the topic running.