Thread: Blood Pressure

Blog Entries
    Thanks

Default Blood Pressure

Day 5 of Prednisone. Haven't been feeling all that great. Everything from EXTREMELY tired to roid rage! Been having some chest discomfort & feelings of heart racing. So, decided to use my daughter's bp/heart rate monitor. My bp is normally around 120/75. Last night it was 125/86. Earlier today is was at 130/74 & most recently 134/76. Could this be from the prednisone? I haven't seen anything about bp in side effects. Thanks!
    Lauren

Thanks

Prednisone, yup and a little stress too. The main number thats a concern is the bottom one, because its ur heart at rest. if its above 80's like mid to higher I would be a little concerned. Since I have been on prednisone 2 and half years i went from 90/50- 170/110! So it can jack with ur bp. I am on two bp medicines and it still is 130/90. I would consistently take bp everyday mayb twice, both arms to get a avaerage. By the way I am a nurse of 18yrs, (didnt want u to think i was just trying sound knowledgeable! lol) HUgs Kathy
    Sorry i'm not home pain! and don't leave message I am not calling u back!

Lupus,Fibromyalgia,Hypertension, Sjogrens,Raynauds,

Macular degeneration,Depression,Arthritis

Blog Entries
    Thanks

Kathy,
    Thank you. I went to my gp today. He said that it could be from the swelling from the pred. We'll keep an eye on it, if it gets worse maybe do a 24 hr monitor, yada yada ya! He said it's just a matter of trial & error, unfortunately, to see what works and has the best results.
    This morning when I woke up it 144/93, but then this afternoon it was 110/62! Who knows anymore. I really hate this disease!
    BTW- Love your sig line!
    Lauren

Thanks

My blood pressure was quite high when I was taking larger doses too, so it could very well be related!

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by red246 View Post
    Kathy,