Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tounge Swelling & Painful Swallowing

Thanks

Question Tounge Swelling & Painful Swallowing

I don't remember when these symptoms started but it happens pretty often and mostly later in the night.

My tounge only gets a little swollen on the right side..not too swollen and it is painful to swallow.It feels as if the muscles in my tounge are sore and my glands
    also get swollen which makes it even more painful to swallow.

Does anyone else have this problem & if so what do you do?

Blog Entries
    Thanks

Some things from my experiences...

Have you been tested for angioedema? Specifically a C1q deficiency? It's something I was recently diagnosed with, but I don't have the external swelling or my throat closing up as many do. It's supposed to run hand in hand with lupus and other AI diseases. It's a very sensitive test and rarely caught. I'm still learning about that one.

My saliva glands do swell at times and always bother me... docs think I have sjogren's and that's causing the mouth and throat issues. I have a very dry mouth and throat. When I put flavorful or even dull tasting foods in my mouth, my glands will squeeze tight and hurt...then they relax while I finish eating or drinking. Sometimes when the pain hits, the agony will travel up my face.

Could be an allergic reaction to something. Have you talked to a doctor about it?

Thanks

Wow..you just completely blew my mind.

No I have not been test for angioedema but I just read some things on a few websites
    and it sounds like that definately might be it. I have before told my doctor that out of nowhere I will get lip swelling..or my elbow randomly grow a welt that hurts..and my glands also do what yours do while eating I totally know the face you are talking about...I have to push on my gland to release saliva and make the pain stop.