Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Imuran and Prednisone?

Thanks

Default Imuran and Prednisone?

I finally got to start some treatment yesterday. I was really excited to get some relief. My doctor started me on 60 mg of prednisone. It made me really hyper, so I'm going to take it in the morning instead.
    My question about the prednisone is that it has made my legs hurt something awful. I've had numbness in my right leg for a year now. Since I've taken the steroids, I've had bad pain. I also have sciatica-type pain in my left leg. Is that a side effect of the meds or is that the Lupus?
    My doctor said that next week, if the steroids work, then I will be given the option to start Imuran. He didn't want to give me too much info b/c he wanted me to focus on the steroid and that info.
    I'm starting to think about the Imuran and trying to figure out what I will do. I have a couple questions after researching it.
    First of all, I am a teacher, will taking the Imuran affect my immune system at all? I am around sick kids all the time. I'm actually a music teacher, so I see 50 kids an hour, 7 times a day. I also work in the nursery at our church in the one-one and a half year old room.
    Will I still be able to work without getting sick all the time? I already use hand sanitizer frequently.
    What were your experiences with the Imuran? Did you love it, hate it, indifferent?
    Thanks!

Thanks

Hi..

I don't have any experience with Imuran, but from my understanding it is use to treat kidney and liver Lupus involvement. It is considered a steroid sparing drug...either used in lieu of or in addition to..needing little use of steroids or none at all.

It is an immunosuppressant drug, as with all suppressive drugs one is suspectible to infections...

Each prescribed regime is individualized, as Lupus treats us all differently..Are you on a tapered dose of Prednisone?