Thread: Hello, I'm new here, but not so new to SLE

Thanks

Question Hello, I'm new here, but not so new to SLE

Hello Everyone,

I was diagnosed with SLE three years ago, at age thirty one , although in retrospect my symptoms started much earlier. At about age thirteen I started having issues with photosensitivity, they questioned Lupus at that time, but apparently, there was not enough criteria to make a diagnosis. In my late twenties I started experiencing extreme fatigue, that I chalked up to being a mother of two young children. I was a full time EMT for eight years, until my fatigue became so unbearable, that I would come home from work and fall asleep on the couch, still in uniform. My hair started falling out, and then I started to experience joint pain. Working in a very physical job, I contributed the joint pain to all the heavy lifting. I started pulling muscles every day at work; every time I would attempt to lift the stretcher, I would pull something. Inevitably I had to resign from a job that I loved. It was at this time that I was diagnosed, and stated taking anti-malarial drugs (plaquenil) which has helped significantly. Luckily I was able to find a new job; one that is non physical , and love doing equally. I have been very fortunate in this regard.

I have a lot of muscle pain, and started becoming rigorous (stiff) and clenching my muscles when I sleep, I was put on muscle relaxers, that did not help - my Rheumatologist tells me that this is not related to my Lupus, and that I have Fibromyalgia, as well! From what Iíve read online, it seems that many Lupus patients suffer from muscle pain, has anyone else experienced this, or been given a second diagnosis?

My Brother, who is four years older then me, was also diagnosed with Lupus, five years prior to me, but yet my Rheumatologist tells me that there is no evidence to suggest heredity, has anyone else been told this?