Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Frustrated with Doctors

Thanks

Default Frustrated with Doctors

I was reading the difficulties some of you had had with doctors and I feel it is unfortunate. I have been with my PCP 5 years now and both my doctor and his staff have been very empathetic and informative. Since I started to go through this scary diagnosis stage, everything has changed. I am now a nuisance...I can hear it in their voices when I call like “Oh its yooouuuu again”. Sometimes my calls don’t get returned etc… In my career I have dealt with the “persistent client” and yes they can get on your nerves but I always put myself in their shoes and try to empathize. I sometimes try to be cognizant of the fact that the doctors are very busy, and I don’t always call with concerns I try to research them first. I consider myself a smart woman but I am no Doctor and I just get sick of having to feel like I have to apologize for being sick.

I still haven’t received a conclusive diagnosis for now they are calling it “undifferentiated connective tissue disorder". What bothers and frustrates me is that I don’t know everything that is going on until I request my records and read things that were brushed off and considered not to be a concern yet. I recently received my records from the Rheumy as I am seeking a 2nd opinion and found the following phrases which he never discussed with me: “ positive ANA 1:32 speckled” “elevated lymphocytes” “could be a lupus presentation” “antibody profile shows a positive SCL70”. When I read these things and try to discuss it with the rheumy I get the following… “it’s a mildly positive ANA not really indicative of anything to be concerned about” or “the antibodies just tell me it’s an undifferentiated connective tissue disorder”