Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello All!

Thanks

Default Hello All!

I am a 43 year old male. Over the last 2 years I have been diagnosed with Lupus, sleep apnea, FM, and myositis. I am currently on MTX 1cc / week, Plaquenil 20mg 3x / day, Folic acid 5mg / day, Androgel 5mg / day, Solumedrol 16mg on and 32mg off / day, and Lortab PRN 4x / day. I also use a CPAP for the apnea.

I am a maintenance manager in a steel mill and got FMLA back in July of 08. I am still not sure how my employer is going to treat me overall cause I just recieved a bad evaluation that was based on when I was off sick while adjusting to my MTX going from oral to IM. My family tries to understand as much as anyone possibly can. It is still hard for them as they do not have to live with this.

I came here cause I want to find people that are unfortunate to be going thru similar problems so I do not feel like I am going crazy. I am not at all sure what to expect with these illnesses as my Rheumy told me that she is in aw that I am still working. I do so cause I need to to keep my family going financially. I also want to be able to contribute any knowledge that I might have for anyone.

Thanks for reading and here is hoping for a pain free day!!

Thanks

Hi Cptblah,
    Welcome to the site. There are a lot of good folks that come in here. Rob our moderator has SLE and he has a lot of good information from the male perspective. I have had Lupus and several other Auto-immunes for most of my life and I just turned 50 in December. Rob will see your post and I am sure that he will respond pretty quickly. I hope that you keep posting. There are several men with Lupus that come in here.

Hugs,
    Kathy
    Lupus for many years. Like most of my life. Sjogrens that started at 35 and Scoliosis, Spinal Stenosis, Degenerative Disc Disease, Osteo-Arthritis of the spine, Ankylosing Spondilitis, Periferal Neuropathy, mild CP and now just recently diagnosed with PA. I had a disc replaced in December of 2007.