Thread: Newbie

Thanks

Default Newbie

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this sort of thing. I have been diagnosed with Lupus now for almost 7 years, and to go with it Fibromyalgia and Sjogrens, a nice little cocktail there.

Things seem relatively stable at the moment, just the usual summer compliants of leg swelling, cramps, Migraines, fatigue and all over muscle weakness. Not too much to complain about at this time.
    However the hardest thing for me to deal with is the mental challenge of daily aches and pains.I feel this limits me more than the symptoms of these. Funny that.

I'll leave it there, and look forward to sharing experiences etc in future,

Paula C

Blog Entries
    Thanks

Default hi

Hi and welcome and sending a gentle hug to you.

Love
    Angel.xx

Thanks

Hi paula and welcome

I'm heading into my third year of this.

I can relate to the swelling, fatigue and pain issues getting in the way of life in general.

Although I must say things have greatly improved since they found a good mix of medications for me. Either that or I'm just getting used to the pain levels and swelling issues. Some times it's hard to tell.
    Oh look ... a cookie

Thanks

To sits in the corner,

Thank you for the welcome.
    Like you said it is hard to tell sometimes whether pain is there, or you are just tolerating levels of pain well at that time.
    It can be frustrating at times.

I started to see a cognitive pshycologist a while back to help deal with sleep problems and pain management. She provided me with interesting material on chronic pain and how we tend to deal with it including grief periods, very interesting. It has helped in both instances and I continue to see her on a regular basis. This helps my thought processes as well.
    It helped me deal with my grief of losing my dream career due to effects of Lupus.

Take care,

Paula C

Thanks

Hi paula,

Glad you were able to find help and tools to use to help you cope.