Thread: I'm new

Hybrid View

Thanks

Default I'm new

Hi,
    My name is Dency, I am 36 years old and live in a small town in Texas. I have 3 children, all girls, ranging from 1st grade to 6th grade. My youngest was by birth and my oldest we adopted when they were 9 and 10. I am a certified English teacher but use my training in teaching a 4 year old class at a Mother's Day Out Program. I love my job, it is physically hard, with Lupus, but since it is only 2 days a week I am able to manage it at this time. I never thought I'd view a part-time job as a long term career. Once I was diagnosed I knew this was a job I needed to hang on to and look at as my future.

My mother died from Lupus complications 4 and 1/2 years ago at age 60. I was diagnosed with Lupus, a year and 1/2 ago, close to the 3 year aniversary of her death. I learned much from my mother on how to cope but, I don't have her to answer my questions now. That's why I am reaching out now. Luckily, I have good friends that I work with and husband that knew the min I told him it was Lupus what that meant...he saw my mother live through her last 8 years of her Lupus.