Thread: Hives and Lupus?

Thanks

Default Hives and Lupus?

My Boyfriend's mother was diagnosed with lupus this past weekend after she was admitted to the hospital with a bad case of hives. I was under the impression that it took a long time to diagnosis someone with lupus, that there would be blood tests etc... but they have not ran many tests on her at all, the only thing she is complaining about is when she gets hot she get hives all over her body. I am not familar with this disease and I was wondering if that was a common symptom, no where online have I found where it said it was. She has been under a lot of stress lately and I was under the impression that she just had a case of hives due to stress.

I am also wondering if anyone knows of anything I can do to be supportive, I am not really good with things like this and I really don't know what to say to my boyfriend to make him feel better about the whole situation. Thank you for any advice or information you can give me

Saysusie is offline Super Moderator Super ModeratorEmperor of the Universe
    Blog Entries
    Thanks

Hi Whitney; Hives are not uncommon in Lupus patients. My daughter first presented with hives prior to being diagnosed with lupus. Her final diagnosis did take about a year, however. Your mother is lucky to have been diagnosed so quickly, this means that she can start treatment right away.
    10% of lupus patients will develop hives at some point in the course of their disease. This is one of the few skin rashes of lupus that itch.
    Most cases are related to coincidental allergic reactions, but an uncommon form of lupus may be associated with 'lupus urticaria'. Most of these patients have deficiencies in certain blood complement components.