Thread: new member-this hurts

Thanks

Default new member-this hurts

Hi-
    New diagnosis-I'm a nurse for 38 years and I am just learning about this the hard way. Couldn't lift my right arm all day-woke up that way. Is this normal? Is this how it's gonna go? Hope it's only one body part at a time, 'cause I gotta work. If it all goes bad at once, I'm in trouble.

Not sure how to use the smiley/not-so-smiley faces on the left? But-I guess I'll be learning alot of new things, eh? I definitely can relate to one or more of them!

I can face any challenge as long as I know the program. Can we become disabled or die from this ugly disease? Thanks and I'll be reading everything I can to understand this journey-
    Jeanne

rob is offline Super Moderator Super ModeratorEmperor of the World
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,105 Times in 628 Posts

Hi Jeanne,

I try to say hello to all of the new people here. I'm feeling a bit rough around the edges, so I'll have to make this short. There are a whole bunch of folks here who have the same fears, and the same concerns that you do, and they, we, understand how you feel. Hang out, make yourself at home, and our other regulars will be along to say hello as well. Welcome.

Rob

Saysusie is offline Super Moderator Super ModeratorEmperor of the Universe
    Blog Entries
    Thanks

Hi jeanne;
    Welcome to our family.
    Lupus is a disease that affects each of us differently - no two persons have the exact same symptoms.
    The fact that you were not able to lift your arm could be due to several issues. Some include overlap illnesses that many Lupus patients also suffer from, that affects the muscles. Some of those illnesses include Fibromyalgia; dermatomyositis; Scleroderma and others.
    You probably should discuss this symptom with your doctor so that you can find out what the exact cause is and what type of treatment will help. Please keep us posted.

Peace and Blessings
    Saysusie
    Look For The Good and Praise It!

Thanks