Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tongue troubles

Thanks

Default Tongue troubles

I've recently started to bite my tongue when I talk. Its quite a strange feeling and I'm trying to work out if its on a certain sound (tongue position).

When it happens, its my back teeth that seem to catch the back of my tongue on both sides. It isn't painful really 'cos its just a light sort of pressure. Nothing like biting your tongue when you're eating.Its almost as though my tongue is too big.......but its not.....or it doesn't appear to be.

I've never done this before in my life. Any ideas anyone?

ColleenT

Thanks

Hi Colleen,
    I am wondering if your doctor has tested you for Sjogrens? Are you having a dryness of the mouth or anything like that? I never had a problem biting my tongue, but I sure have the moth dryness to the point where it affects my vocal chords, due to the Sjogrens. I hope that someone can answer this for you and I am sure they will have some answers for you in here.

Hugs,
    Kathy
    Lupus for many years. Like most of my life. Sjogrens that started at 35 and Scoliosis, Spinal Stenosis, Degenerative Disc Disease, Osteo-Arthritis of the spine, Ankylosing Spondilitis, Periferal Neuropathy, mild CP and now just recently diagnosed with PA. I had a disc replaced in December of 2007.

Medications:
    Plaquenil, Sulindac, Imuran, Celiac diet, Tramadol and B12 shot once a month.

Thanks

Hi Collen..

And how are you this Friday , aside from making a meal out of your tongue...Ouch....

I bite my tongue or cheek every once in a blue moon, especially while chewing gum which is for Sjogren's dry mouth relief..regardless if I toss the gum...

I find the more I tried not too, once it happened the more likely I am to bite it a second time...

Has there been a possible shift in teeth..a new crown, filling?

Eating more salt? Food containing MSG?

Hope you find something, the cause, a prevention...

Hugs,
    LOve,
    OLuwa
    I have Lupus. So *^#@! what.

Thanks