Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: figuring out what causes flares need help

Thanks

Default figuring out what causes flares need help

Hi All,

I'm new to Lupus and am sorting through symptoms and what can cause a flare. I've been doing research but I'd like to know what you all have found to cause flares. Please respond if you can, I'd appreciate any and all input.

Thanks so much!

onpointe
    "We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of a dream." Willy Wonka

Saysusie is offline Super Moderator Super ModeratorEmperor of the Universe
    Blog Entries
    Thanks

One of the major things that can cause a flare is exposure to the sun and/or UV rays. It is very important for us to avoid the sun as much as possible by wearing sunscreen all of the time, keeping our bodies covered in clothing, wear hats and sunglasses that have uv protection.

Stress is another major cause of a flare! We must work very hard at reducing the stressors in our lives and learn techniques to help us cope with stressful situations.

A poor diet can make us vulnerable to flares (as well as some foods - like Refined, highly processed foods and oils, Excessive carbohydrates (sugar, grains & even fruit), Alfalfa sprouts as their amino acid canavanine exacerbates lupus inflammations, Nightshade veggies (tomatoes, potatoes, eggplant & peppers) may aggravate lupus inflammation).

Overexertion can cause a flare (we must walk a tightrope between exercise and recuperative rest).

Other causes of flares are personal, depending upon the symptoms that you are suffering from with Lupus. Perhaps some other members will give you some more information about what causes their flare-ups.

I hope that I've been helpful :lol:

Peace and Blessings
    Saysusie
    Look For The Good and Praise It!

Thanks

Amazing isn't it? Saysuzie is so right, we walk a tightrope.

I find I avoid flares best by staying OUT of the sun. Sunscreen, long sleeves, slacks, and of course my trademark HATS - 4" brim or wider.