Thread: Swollen fingers, joints, and cold hands

Thanks

Default Swollen fingers, joints, and cold hands

:?: Its been over a year and a half since my diagnosis, so I'm still learning things about lupus every day. I've noticed that ever since the weather changed (its been very cold lately) my fingers and hands have been achey and swollen at times. Is that arthritis acting up? Also, I've noticed that the joints in my right hand (my dominant hand) are more swollen and more achey than my left. Also, my right hand and fingertips feel so cold. Why is it affecting my right hand more? Sorry for so many questions. I'm just curious if anyone has experienced this too. :?
    "I've learned that when bad times come, you can let them make you bitter or use them to make you better."

Saysusie is offline Super Moderator Super ModeratorEmperor of the Universe
    Blog Entries
    Thanks

Many of us with Lupus have secondary Raynaud's Syndrome. The inflammation and stiffness (arthritic like symptoms) can be a result of Lupus. The sudden coldness and blue tint on your fingers can be a symptom of Raynaud's. With Raynaud's, your fingers turn pale with cold or stress, then turn bluish, and, finally, red. You can experience pain, numbness, and tingling along with the color changes.
    Raynaud's phenomenon is a disorder that affects the blood vessels in the fingers, toes, ears, and nose. It causes episodes of attacks, called vasospastic attacks, that cause the blood vessels in the digits (fingers and toes) to constrict (narrow).
    There is no way of knowing why symptoms would affect one side and not the other. However, this happens to me quite often. My right hand goes tingling, numb and blue more often than my left hand! However, it affects both of my feet equally and when it happens, it is extremely painful!!
    I'm not sure if this is what is causing your symptoms or not. You should discuss this with your doctor to find out exactly what is going on!

Peace and Blessings