Thread: New to the forum, Father just Diagnosed

Thanks

Default New to the forum, Father just Diagnosed

Hello all,
    Obviously, this is my first time here and I wish it was on different terms.

I guess first my name is Drew, I am 20, and I go to Columbia College in Columbia, MO. I am a "fish nut" and I sell tropical fish online. So hello and I look forward to meeting all of you.

My dad recently came to visit me "just because." When he came yesterday he told me he had recently been diagnosed with lupus.

I am not sure as to what type (Im assuming there are diff kinds from what I have read) and not sure as to the details, this is all very overwhelming so I'm trying to learn as much as possible. He has had extensive testing and he told me all the scientific terms but my mind is so scattered right now I cant remeber the details. He also says it is a lot more rare in older males such as himself (hes 57). I will post what tests and type etc, when I have the chance to write it all down, maybe you guys can explain some of the stuff to me then.

I'm pretty angry and upset right now about the whole thing, and for some reason I find myself blaming myself for him having this, I know it's not the case but I cant help but feel that way.

I dont really know what else to say, I just need some support as I am away from all of my family at college, trying to learn all about this disease (I HATE what I have read about this, it scares me to death), seems like this forum is a good place to start.

Thank for listening,

Drew

Edit for spelling.

Thanks

Welcome Drew!