Thread: undiagnosed

Hybrid View

Thanks

Default undiagnosed

I am still waiting for lab results and an MRI. I have been tired for years, anemic for years and had achy joints for years. I would joke with my friends that I was a young girl trapped in an old persons body. That is how I feel. Headaches, cold sensations in my left leg,chest pains, activity induced asthma, stiff right hand,neck and ankles. Trouble is i am a nurse and it is really started to interfer with my job. After working a few hours my hip and back are killing me. It takes two days to recover from one 12 hour shift. I wondering how long will i be able to do my job. How many of you still work and if so how long have you had symptoms. I am worried. Oh I also have high blood pressure, a slightly enlarged heart and i just started an antidepressant. My husband is in Iraq and I have been alone raising the three kids for the most part. It doesn't seem fair.

Thanks

Hi Tehale,

When is your follow-up appointment to get your results of the labs? Did you see a rhumy? Did the doctor give you any idea for a diagnosis? I know, it's very frustrating. Hang in there and don't think too far ahead. I would get the follow-up apptmt, and always ask for a copy of your labs in case you get a 2nd opinion.

Can you work less hours than a 12 hour shift? Can you transfer or look for another position that has less hours? Maybe as a travel nurse or school nurse? A position that would be less physically demanding; and still allow you to earn a living?

It can't be easy raising three kids by yourself! I am very thankful I have my husband to help me out when I am not feeling so great. Mm, I have a lot of respect for you and your husband. Are your parents close or in-laws that could help you a couple of nights a week? Just an idea? It sounds like you are under a lot of stress at work and home. It can't be easy.