Thread: What should I expect?

Thanks

Default What should I expect?

Ok, I know that I can't really "expect" anything from Lupus because it affects everyone differently, but, I am still very curious about it. I haven't been diagnosed yet... but I have been on Plaquenil 200mg 2x/day for almost 5 months now. After 5 years of constant pain, fatigue, migraines 2x/week, and a variety of other symptoms, I am finally feeling "normal". I have very mild pain now, a very mild malar rash (which is the same as it was before starting on Plaquenil), migraines less than once a month, and am still fatigued but not like before.

So, I guess my main question is, does Lupus get progressively worse or does it just depend on the person? I am a nursing student and at the end of the last school year I was seriously considering dropping out. I was just in too much pain to continue, and I felt like I was losing my mind. I was foggy at times, unable to remember what I was doing or where I put things. I just wasn't functioning well at school or anywhere. But now that the medication has kicked in, I am really excited to continue in school. I really love nursing but I am worried that if the disease progresses that I won't be able to be in such a physically demanding job. Not only that, but the fogginess I was experiencing just isn't a safe thing for my patients.

Seems like everyone had a hard time getting a diagnosis... so I'm really just waiting and waiting... arrggg.

Saysusie is offline Super Moderator Super ModeratorEmperor of the Universe
    Blog Entries
    Thanks