Thread: Anyone out there with Lupus and MTHFR Genetic Mutation?

Thanks

Default Anyone out there with Lupus and MTHFR Genetic Mutation?

I have never used an internet forum before. I thought this might be the best way to connect with other people who have been diagnosed with lupus and lupus related maladies. I have found you just can't walk up to people and say "Hi, I have lupus." Others do not understand the disease. For that matter, I don't "understand" it myself. A lot of people have heard of lupus, but unless you have it you don't really learn very much about it. It seems to have taken over my life.
    I was diagnosed with lupus at the beginning of this year. As I have read from so many others I have probably been living with lupus for many years and didn't realize it until the symptoms became so severe that a concerned MD actually tested me for it. Even after I was diagnosed the Rhumetologist I was sent to didn't seem to take Lupus very seriously. He told me that the good news was that it wasn't going to kill me. Needless to say his "bedside manner" was lacking.
    I wasn't treated properly and ended up with severe plueresy and incredible joint pain. Because I didn't understand my symptoms, still really don't, and all those around me seemed to think most of my issues were "in my mind" I let my health deteriorate to the point I almost lost my life. I spent 15 days in the critical care unit at my local hospital with a severe pulmonary embolism. I will be disabled off of work for at least 4 mos. and have endured endless tests, procedures and medications. I now know that while things will stabilize I will be dealing with this for the rest of my life. I just want to find some quality of life again.
    Throughout the course of this journey I have found that I have a genetic mutation that seems to be related to lupus. Does anyone else out there have MTHFR Mutation and Lupus? I would really like to share any experiences and/or information you may have.