Thread: Shouldn't the prednisone be helping??

Thanks

Default Shouldn't the prednisone be helping??

I'm new to all this, so hopefully some of you can share your experiences.

I was recently diagnosed with lupus; I have very high ANA and anti-dsDNA and multiple symptoms. My primary doc put me on a 20-day taper of prednisone starting at 60mg/day. I started feeling better, but once I got to 10 mg/day (on pred for 13 days at this point) my stmptoms started to return - particularly pain in my hips and exhaustion. So...I'm on 12.5 mg/day until I see a rheumy on Aug 29th. It seems I have something new everyday. My hips still hurt, my feet ache, my back aches ( this could be from lack of exercise, but the ache is more intense than I've had in the past).

I have also been having side effects from the pred including thrush, mood swings, and depression. Yesterday I had the worst migraine I've had in quite a while - it didn't even respond to a relpax and a 2-hour nap. I've also had intermittent nausea.

Is this normal? I though the pred was supposed to stop the flare? I feel bad bothering my primary doc all the time, but it seems it's something new everyday! It's going to be a looooong three weeks!!! HELP!

RottieGirl

Saysusie is offline Super Moderator Super ModeratorEmperor of the Universe
    Blog Entries
    Thanks