Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: what is it about 50?

Thanks

Default what is it about 50?

I've noticed that there are quite alot of people with SLE who die at 50 years old or so. I worked as an occupational therapist with 3 people with SLE and they died at 50/52 years old. And I've noticed about 6 others in the paper who've passed on at 50.

Saysusie is offline Super Moderator Super ModeratorEmperor of the Universe
    Blog Entries
    Thanks

Well, since I am in my mid-50s, I certainly hope that this does not mean that I am close to the end of my days :lol:

I do not think that there is a real answer to that, unfortunately! Especially since there are too many who die in their 20s, and too many who die in their 30s and way too many who die in their teenage years! I think it has more to do with the extent of their disease, how much their organs had been damaged, how long had the disease wreaked havoc on their bodies and what types of complications did they suffer with as a result of Lupus.

By the same token, there are many, many of us who have lived 20 -30 years with Lupus and have lived a relatively normal life. Because of new treatments, medications and knowledge of the disease, there are more chances of longevity with Lupus than mortality (thank goodness!)

Peace and Blessings
    Saysusie

Thanks

Well, guess then I have already beat the odds and have every intention of continuing to do so in future. My we all live long productive, and happy lives.

Thanks

Here, here beautifulbeluga!! Well, Susan - like you I've seen and heard of many who have passed away too early in life. I think that sometimes there are questions on earth that can only be answered in Heaven.