Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to lupus

Thanks

Default New to lupus

Hi everyone,

I am new to both lupus and this forum. I’m still kind of in a bit of shock that I have this disease… I’m a 38 year old male, who was super healthy up till about a year ago. But now my symptoms all make sense with not sleeping well, fatigue and my joint pains… I really did not know I had a problem until I had to quit a job, because of the pain, and went to the doctor. I was working for American Eagle out on the ramp with the aircraft service equipment, and it hurt to pull the aircraft power cables around, and I had a bad chest infection that developed.

I just retired from the USAF last June (06), and served in Iraq, Afghanistan and Somalia. I took the Anthrax shots and I have learned that there is a connection to men, lupus and the anthrax vaccination, GWS. I am lucky in many ways that I have medical coverage, and a pension to help my family. I started a real-estate inspection firm in my town that is not so physically demanding, and I can arrange my schedule around bad days, or take a day or two off if I over do it when crawling through attics or under foundations. I actually started my business about 1.5 years ago, but now I inspect full time. I really like being self employed… Its rewarding and scary.

I kind of feel like the odd man out so to speak with Lupus and on this forum, but that’s OK, because I’m different than most guys… So if any one has any question about houses, I have lots of answers… I’ll probably have lots of question about lupus and how to deal with it from you folks… so it’d be a good horse trade.

See you all later

Cort

Thanks

hi and welcome

shane

Thanks

Welcome Iron Cowboy!

Thanks

Welcome Iron Cowboy and congrats on your business. Thank God you had something else going.

In case you didn't see it, there is a men's section on the forum. But the ladies look forward to chatting with you too so don't feel odd.

Thanks