Thread: Does it get better or worse from here?

Thanks

Default Does it get better or worse from here?

I'm 37 and was diagnosed about four months ago. I have started Plaquenil but not noticed any obvious changes yet.

In a way I'm glad I found this forum, but unfortunately reading here is making me feel more depressed. It sounds like people are having a really bad time -- barely able to walk, having to quit their job, barely able to dress themselves ... it sounds very debilitating.

Is this what I have to look forward to until I die? Don't the medicines help at all? Will things just continue to get worse and worse for me over the years?

Also, I have asked this in different places and never seem to get an answer, but what is remission? How long does it last? Does it mean you feel perfectly normal, or just a little better? And what can you do to try to achieve it?

Jenny

Thanks

I'm pretty new at this, too, Redhead - about 10 months. Plaquenil can take up to 6 months to really have full affect. It can really help fatigue and joint pain.