Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help - need some advice from the dog lovers on forum

Thanks

Default Help - need some advice from the dog lovers on forum

Someone has dropped a stray dog on our property - not the first time, but this one is half-starved and looks like it may have been fought. It's too big to catch in the have-a-heart traps I generally use. We don't have an animal shelter in our county - if I call the county dog catcher the poor thing will probably be shot. So we generally catch them and take them to a no-kill sanctuary or find homes. It is very hungry and will eat if we leave food and don't stay around, but is very distrustful of people, probably with good reason. I am a little afraid of it - it seems more aggressive than most strays - and I'm worried about it attacking some of the cats on our property. I'm not that experienced with larger dogs and I'm not sure how to approach it safely. Any ideas for what to do? It looks like a mama dog - is there any way to tell if it has puppies hidden anywhere? I would hate to take mama dog somewhere safe and leave puppies behind.

Thanks

Yikes...sounds like caution is in order. We live in the country, too, and see stray dogs from time to time. Seems that folks think it's OK to drop them somewhere, as long as it's out of the city limits. My sister is a dog trainer and judge for a local 4H unit and has 25 years experience raising and training dogs of all kinds. I'm going to pass on your question to her. She'll undoubtedly have some kind of advice.

Jody
    "If you trust Google more than you trust your doctor than maybe it's time to switch doctors."

Thanks