Thread: Skin Lupus - Photosensitivity

Thanks

Default Skin Lupus - Photosensitivity

Happy Holidays everyone.

I'm Delia, 33 and just diagnosed with skin lupus after experiencing hair loss. As you can see, I'm fairly new to the disease and have done some research online and realized that my hairloss is nothing compared to some of the symptoms of those with systematic lupus. Bless your hearts, I wish I could hug you all!

During my last visit to my Dermatologist, he suggested I might be photosensitive to the lighting (fluorescent) in my office where I spend at least 9 hrs a day. He feels my hair loss and mild rash is due to the photosensitivity.

I'd love to hear from anyone with skin lupus and how you've dealt with photosensitivity in hopes I can learn from your experiences. Thank you!

Warmest regards,
    Delia

Thanks

Hello, Delia, and welcome. You mentioned that you had been diagnosed with "skin" lupus - did your doctor mention a specific form of cutaneous (skin) lupus? Because, confusing as it is, there are actually different types of cutaneous lupus - and the type you have may affect how your hair grows back, whether you will have scarring lesions, and may even affect what medicines will be most helpful. So it will be important for you in your research and in managing the disease to know what type of cutaneous lupus you have. A good place to start with your research is the Lupus Foundation of America - www.lupus.org - they have several informative brochures you can print off your computer to keep.