Thread: Why is it so hard to get disability for Lupus?

Thanks

Default Why is it so hard to get disability for Lupus?

I used to be a school teacher before a major injury. But when I worked, (and believe you me, there were plenty of days that I went into school sick as a dog) there were plenty of days that I just couldn't go in. Every year, the principal would cry and say that I was one of the best teachers they'd ever met, but they couldn't renew my contract due to the absences. This happened in the last 4 schools I worked for, before my accident.
    How do the rest of you cope on the job? Is anyone on disability? What is involved with getting a disability rating? I think my doctor would be very supportive, but I am unsure how to go about this. Thanks to all who reply, and God Bless.

Thanks

Default Hi, Littlered

Are you interested in applying for social security disability, or are you eligible for some type of short or long-term disability through your employer or a private policy? If you are applying for some type of private disability policy, then your eligibility would depend on that policy's criteria and requirements.

If you are interested in applying for Social Security Disability, it is a federally funded program run by the Social Security Administration. You may be eligible for SSD if you have worked and paid into the Social Security system for a certain number of quarters (the 3-month periods used to report taxes and income) - and if you have a disabling medical condition which prevents or is likely to prevent you from working for at least a year. Some people think this means you have to be off work for a year before you can apply for SSD, but this isn't true. The disabling condition just has to be serious enough to prevent you from working for at least a year.