Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Disability

Thanks

Default Disability

I have been on medical disability from work since May. I think my Doctor may suggest that I go on permanent disability. Has anyone gone on disability? How hard was it to get approved? I heard that many people with Lupus get denied. Any info. would be helpful. Thanks!

Blessings,

ejtexan

Thanks

I tried to get on disability, I was denied. Do you have a good doctor that will back you? I didnt and thats one of the things that didnt help me.
    Good luck!

Thanks

I'm sorry you got denied. Yes, I believe my doctor will back me up so hopefully that will help. Thanks for the response!

Thanks

I am working on it now. I had my appointment at the social security office on 8/24. So, I'm waiting. They said it could take up to 5 months to get an answer.
    I USE TO SKINNY DIP...NOW I CHUNKY DUNK!

Thanks

I have been waging this war for 3 1/2 years. When it started I was in FL where the system is over burdened. I did not yet have my diagnosis although I had know for years. It took them a year to make a decision. They denied me. I apealed, after 9 more months, and a diagnosis they again denied me. The next step is to have a hearing with an administrative law judge. I waited 18 months for a court date at which time I moved to Iowa and had to start at the back of a much shorter line. 3 months later I missed my hearing date due to being hospitalized. I had letters from my doctors and my husband was prepared to go for me but the judge said he wanted to see me in person so now I am waiting for yet another court date.

This post is not meant to be discouraging, just to let you know that it may be a long hard road. My docotor has told me to keep plugging away tho, that if I don't get approved the system doesn't work. I have heard of Lupus patients being approved the first time without much hassle.

Thanks

Default Disability