Thread: Hi I am new!

Thanks

Default Hi I am new!

Hi all, I am new here and just looking around to see what support is out there for people in this situation.

I have not been diagnosed with Lupus but the doc is treating it as such. He has put a diagnoses of UCTD and Fibromyalgia on me. I'm also a type I diabetic and have been since age 12.

I started having joint pain in January and alot of people thought it was b/c I have a new baby. He was born in October. He is a big boy (11.4 lbs at birth) so yeah it makes sense that my body would hurt a bit. But this pain was wierd, very sensitive in my joints. I started bruising easy and just had a lot of wierd feelings so I went to the NP for my family doc and they did a CBC and all that jazz. I'm a nursing student and I knew something wasn't right.

My ANA came back positive so she said it could be a connective tissue disease or lupus but it was not rheumatoid arthritis. So they sent me to a rheum. who I'm not sure if he is all there or not some day! I have had tons of blood work done and for now he is going with it being UCTD and Fibromyalgia. He just rx'd hydrocloraquin for me but I'm hesitant to take it b/c of the possible eye issues and being a diabetic I am already at risk for eye issues. I think I am going to call my eye doc to get a second opinion on whether it is ok.

So not much to say, just wondering how many ppl also started out with such a vague diagnosis?

BTW, I am Amy, 29 years old, married to David for 8.5 years and I have a son who was born in October and he is the love of my life! Also I am a nursing student with less than a year left til I can take my RN exam.

Thanks

Hi,