Thread: New to Lupus

Hybrid View

Thanks

Default New to Lupus

I was diagnosed in February 2013, I had been feeling terrible with awful stomach pains, my family doctor was completely lost, he had me go through all kinds of tests, CT's, MRI's, and blood work on top of blood work. That's when I starting doing some research on my own, and I had almost all the symptoms for Lupus, so, I had him test my ANA, came back positive. So my family doctor said it was nothing to worry about, it was probably just wrong. Well since I am a nurse, I am aware that blood usually doesn't lie. So I went to a rheumotologist, he was able to concur that yes in fact I have lupus. I was started immediately on Plaquenil, was told to start eating a plant based diet, and get used to the idea. Well, I have never been able to get used to much when I know there is something wrong. But I don't know what I should be doing, what works, what doesn't? Help Please!

Thanks

Lucky for us the net has so much info,we can now inform ourselves,and that's where you should start. Good luck on this journey!

tgal is offline Super Moderator Super ModeratorEmperor of the Solar System
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,742 Times in 1,211 Posts

Hi shanna. Sorry you are having to deal with all of this. I will tell you that there is no proof, nor does the Lupus Assoc. suggest, wasting a plant based diet. If yours does I am NOT telling you to go against him but it would be considered natural/holistic treatments and that is the only thing not allowed to be discussed here.

For the health of all of our family members we only discuss proven, medical treatments in working with our disease.

I will tell you that it has been proven that we should not eat alphalfa sprouts and a big study came out post on Lupus.org questioning whether garlic is good to eat (although most here said they couldn't give it up lol).
    Mari

Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts.

~Winston Churchill~