Thread: Hi from Texas

Thanks

Smile Hi from Texas

Hi all,

I'm new to Lupus and just found this forum. I'm excited to learn and make new friends here. I was diagnosed in May with SLE and have been doing lots of reading of online info trying to see what I can expect. The first symptoms for me were stiff, aching feet after being off them for awhile. Then my hands and my left shoulder became very stiff and achy, I started getting frequent headaches, and itchy rashes began forming over much of my body. Thinking I had rheumatoid arthritis and eczema, I went to my family doctor, and he ran a blood test. It came back positive on ANA and SS-A. So I've been on Plaquenil for nearly 2 months now, with some relief on the rash, but the joints are not any better yet and seem to be worse. Well, it'll be interesting to see how this goes. I look forward to getting to know you all and giving and receiving support through this journey!

Kim

Thanks

Hi Kim! Welcome. I live in Texas also, the Dallas area. Sorry you have SLE but glad you are getting help and had a quick diagnosis. Do you take an anti-inflammatory? I take Celebrex, and since I started it, my joint pain is almost gone. I have a little late in the evening but that's it. Sometimes you have to try a few before you find the one that works. Mobic didn't help me at all, Lodine helped a lit, but Celebrex really knocked it out. Talk with your doctor and make sure he knows how much the joint pain is bothering you. Also, keep moving. Exercise, while sometimes difficult helps so much.

Again, welcome to the group.

Jo

Saysusie is offline Super Moderator Super ModeratorEmperor of the Universe
    Blog Entries
    Thanks

Hello and Welcome to our family;