Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What do you do for work? How does lupus effect your job?

Thanks

Default What do you do for work? How does lupus effect your job?

The hobby post got me thinking. What job do you do? I still work pretty much full time. I have two jobs. I am a bookkeeper for my husband. We run an automotive repair shop. We have four guys on the payroll. I also do bookkeeping for a large grocery chain in my area. I keep busy with both jobs and I average about 30 hours a week.some weeks more depending on what time of the month it is. Got to pay Uncle Sam!

For years I was bakery manager but my body wouldn't keep up with the demands of the job. I didn't know at the time I had lupus but it was rough on my body. I was working 40 plus hours at the store plus the shop. I still obviously have rough days but adjusting my work schedule has really helped. The past few weeks I have missed some work at the store due to lupus. The shop unfortunately can not be put off as its our business and it never stops. It's flexible though. This week has been rough I filled in for pricing ( hanging tags) its an early shift start at 3am. 8 hours on my feet up and down I hurt. I've also had some out breaks of petechia this week. I'm assuming its been the stress of the week.

My son still lives at home but he's 21 so its not like I have young ones at home. He's gone a lot he's a junior engineer for Crowley Marine. I had him young I will be 40 in July (eek). My point is I'm not sure I would be able to work if I did have young ones at home. Work,house,husband,kids,lupus seems a bit much lol.

I am adjusting to having lupus. It was kind of a blow at first hearing the news but things made sense. Rather then push myself to get it all done feeling lazy if I didn't I know now how i will pay if I push myself.
    I'm not gonna let lupus rule me but I do listen to by body. When it says stop I stop.

2. The Following User Says Thank You to tomcatsgirl For This Useful Post: