Thread: Wondering about disability (US)

Thanks

Default Wondering about disability (US)

I left the corporate world about five years ago when my daughter was a baby and was planning on going back to work when she got to be school aged. I worked in IT which involved a lot of time running around, long hours and regularly lifting 40 ~ 50lbs as a regular part of the job.

But then I was diagnosed with lupus. For the past year of so, the flares have been constant and between the episodes of fatigue, chronic pain and now experiencing muscle weakness, I don't think it's possible to meet the lifting requirement, much less the long hours. It was pretty shocking to realize that I don't think I can resume my normal line of work, which I had over 6 years of experience in. Is disability (US) an option? Should I try for it anyway?

Blog Entries
    Thanks

It is an option. I was approved in 2010. I applied with the help of a rep(not lawyer as most won't take the case until you are denied at least once and some until you are at the ALJ-Administrative Law Judge level)

You need to check into it and make sure that you have enough work credits to qualify for SSDI as they only go back 10 yrs. If your wc have expired and you have a spouse that is working you likely make to much for SSI. The SSA will run both and see if you do qualify for SSI. If you are home now and thinking about doing it I would check locally for a rep as the paperwork is tremendous that they have you fill out and there was no way I personally could have done it on my own..some of the forms get sent over and over too.

It is up to you to decide if it is right for you. I cried when I decided to do it but knew i could no longer do the work I had been doing and I loved my job.