Thread: How long can a flare last?

Hybrid View

Thanks

Default How long can a flare last?

I'm sure this? Has been asked a million times! But I feel like I've been in different forms of a flare up for over a yr(mild to severe). Also, when your not in a flare up, you can still have permanent symptoms right? They just get worse when in a flare? My life is by far stress free, I watch kids for a living, money's tight, I've been denied ssi twice and now battling a 3rd round, I've been through a lot w my kids (both have had surgery this yr) amongst other things.....if I'm constantly stressed, will I constantly feel like I'm in a flare? Thanks in advance for any input! As always, it's greatly appreciated!
    *Darla*-forever awaiting answers-

Romans 5:5 "Hope does not disappoint"

"If it wasn't for bad luck, I'd have none at all-and I'm Irish!"

rob is offline Super Moderator Super ModeratorEmperor of the World
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,105 Times in 628 Posts

Hi Deemarie,

Flares are a strange thing. For me, sometimes a flare can begin suddenly, and a few hours later, end just as quickly as it came on. For the most part though, my flares are pretty regular and somewhat predictable. They last two or three days, and then subside for a couple of days before coming back once again. I've never been in remission.

As far as constant or permanent symptoms go, when I'm not in a flare, I'm still not 100%. For me there is always fatigue and joint pain, even on my best days. I consider it "background noise" and I basically shut it out and ignore it on my good days. On the bad days though, it can't be ignored.

With time, many people learn to recognize the beginning of a flare. For me it begins with mouth sores, and fatigue with the sensation of being held down with a blanket made of lead. I also get bad brainfog. What was easy to write or understand yesterday suddenly becomes hard to understand.