Thread: Prednisone?

Hybrid View

Thanks

Default Prednisone?

Just wondering if anyone else has had painful mouth sore's White in color on the tongue and very back of the cheeks I have been on 60mg of prednisone for almost a month and wondering if this another wonderful side affect. I see my primary on tues and have a lot of questions written down, I was just wondering if anyone else has had this issue.
    Thanks.
    Wade.

tgal is offline Super Moderator Super ModeratorEmperor of the Solar System
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,740 Times in 1,211 Posts

While I am not a doctor it sounds like Thrush to me. I get it from time to time and keep aa prescription mouth wash to take care of it. Thrush is a yeast infection of the mouth. Try eating yogurt until the doctors appointment and then daily after. It helps me
    Mari

Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts.

~Winston Churchill~

3. The Following User Says Thank You to tgal For This Useful Post:

wadenvk (08-11-2012)

Thanks

60 a day for a month is a high dose. Be sure and ask your doc about weaning down. Were you in a lot of pain and have a lot of swelling, or maybe sick, last time you saw the doc? like Mari says, it sounds like thrush, where the bacteria is gone from your mouth, and the yeast "blooms". Your tummy might be the same way, so if you haven't already been doing them, you might start up with some probiotics. Be sure and ask your doctor about them.
    "There but for the grace of God, go I."
    "... His mercy endureth for ever."

5. The Following User Says Thank You to jmail For This Useful Post:

wadenvk (08-11-2012)

Thanks