Thread: Newbie

Thanks

Default Newbie

Hi Everyone,

I've never done something like this before but I'm basically trying to prove a point to my mum! My mum is 46 and has Lupus, quite severely and whilst we (her family) give her a lot of support and advice, personally I feel this only carries a certain amount of weight with her because we don't feel what she feels. This is why I am here, I want to introduce her to people who experience the same troubles and can offer her some extra support that we can't. She's not great with the internet so I'm helping her.
    My mum has had some bad joint problems which her current treatment has cleared up but she has bad kidney damage and her Lupus flare has caused inflammation around her lungs so she finds it difficult to breathe deeply, cough, sneeze etc. I find mostly she seems to struggle emotionally with it because as im sure you're all aware, when you experience a flare it can be very much a case of one element after another! I hope to find some good friends for her to chat to and relate to!

I look forward to hearing from you!
    Thanks
    Abigail

2. The Following User Says Thank You to Cairns For This Useful Post:

Saysusie (07-31-2012)

tgal is offline Super Moderator Super ModeratorEmperor of the Solar System
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,742 Times in 1,211 Posts

Hi and welcome to WHL! I am so glad that you are both here. Although Lupus does affect the entire family and family support is so very important, no one can really understand it unless they live through it.