Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hi, I am a college student trying to cope with lupus and the ickiness it brings.

Thanks

Default Hi, I am a college student trying to cope with lupus and the ickiness it brings.

Hi,
    I was officially diagnosed with SLE and Lupus Nephritis when I was studying abroad in Taiwan the summer before last when I had just turned 19. So it's now been about a year and a half since I was diagnosed... When I was in Taiwan, I ended up in multiple hospitals there for about a week. One of the most memorable times was when I endured a 3 hour ambulance trip from a rural town through bumpy mountains to the capital Taipei with IVs in both hands. Shudder. I then left my program early and ended up back in Los Angeles where I spent about a month in the hospitals. Naturally I seemed to endure more problems in the hospital and was diagnosed with an additional problem a serious blood disorder which the doctors still do not know if it was TTP or atypical HUS. I was in the ICU for about a week since the swelling got so bad and my lungs were filled up with fluid. Though eventually I was freed from the hospital, on heavy doses of everyone's favorite little pill, prednisone, returning cytoxin visits and naturally like 15 other pills and vitamins. All of which everyone knows can cause serious complications of their own. In fact, a couple weeks after I left from my long stay I passed out from the heavy heart/blood pressure medicines they had put me on and I ended up in the emergency room again where they put more blood and fluids put into me.