Thread: Them and Us

Blog Entries
    Thanks

Default Them and Us

Us are the lupies and everyone else who lives with autoimmune diseases. Them is those who don't. Us understands, them don't.

Prime example: as you know from the my post yesterday, the "great" job I thought I had lasted exactly ONE day. Today I was discussing it with the recruiter from the temp agency that got me the position. I told her from the beginning that I have lupus and have been very open about it. One of the problems I had yesterday was the florescent lights. I think being in the basement of the building with absolutely not a sliver of natural light and the construction of the building led to a higher concentration of florescent light. I could be wrong as I'm not an expert on florescent lighting, but it would make sense. Anyhow I was telling the gal about how almost overwhelming fatigued the lights made me which led me to realize that a job there would not be a good long term idea. Well this gal goes off on me and tells me that I should have told her about my issues with florescent lighting and even though legally I didn't have to tell her I have lupus in the first place but since I did I should have told her about the lighting blah blah blah. I TRIED to explain to her that each case is different. That some places the florescent lights don't bother me at all and at others they drive me crazy and I can't see into the future and know which will and which won't but she just did not get it. I told her that it was a great learning experience for me because I now know working in a basement under florescent lighting is a very bad idea. She continued her tirade that I will now have a difficult time finding a job because all businesses use florescent lighting. No duh. However with an above ground job, there'll be some natural light coming in (we don't have many buildings around here that don't have windows to the real world) that I'm not going to let florescent lighting issues stop me from working t