PDA

View Full Version : First Rheumy appt on 18th, any ideas?

Colleens
11-07-2005, 05:04 PM
Hi , my 1st rheumy appt is on 11-18, any ideas on what to expect? I have been to rheumy's before, but this is the first time for this one and the first time for Lupus. All other times was for FMS (fibromyalgia). What can I expect on a first time appt for Lupus?
Thanks,
Colleen S.

Jodi
11-07-2005, 05:20 PM
Hi Colleens,

I am new to this message board, but my advice would be to bring your file! Hopefully you've kept a nice folder or log of all your diagnoses, procedures, medications ... etc. It might save the rheumatologist (and you) from any duplication of effort. It sound like you've been through a lot, and it will only make you feel bad if he starts from scratch with treatments you've already found to be ineffective.

I saw my rheumatologist for the first time in August, and again in October. I don't know if other people would agree, but I've found him to be MUCH more understanding than my primary care physician. He looked at my file, ordered some additional bloodwork, and began my treatmment in a matter of 2 appointments, where my primary care physician had no idea what to do after a year of visits.

Also, be honest with the rheumatologist. I really do think they want to help you manage the disease, and minimize your pain. I can say now after about 8 weeks that I am starting to feel less pain in my hips and shoulders, and I'm less tired than I was before. I had been having such sharp pain that I couldn't move my left arm at all, sometimes for days!