PDA

View Full Version : GOSH, didn't know I was so bad

Linda From Australia
08-11-2010, 02:13 AM
When you are so passionate about something and it is stolen from you in such an ugly way - it is soul destroying.

I LOVE teaching Year 6, I LOVE my job, I LOVE MY life…..
I was called to the Principal’s office yesterday after school. Some parents are concerned about me, their kids are getting stressed out because me, and not happy and some don’t even want to come to school. I had a meeting with a parent representative today, and it is all true.

Before my Lupus diagnosis – 7 weeks ago - it has been made very clear to me by my Principal, other teachers, parents and students that, I am an outstanding teacher, very detailed, fight for those who are disadvantaged, and always go the extra mile for anyone, teach excellent subjects, the kids have improved in an exceptional manner, the parents am so happy I am their child’s teacher, basically, apparently I am the teacher you would want for your child..

BUT –APPARENTLY - Mostly this term, (all of nearly 4 weeks), and the last 2 weeks of last term, I have changed. I am not the same person that I was at the beginning of the year. I took the parents’ concerns seriously and brought it to the attention of the students in my class. I went to class, told the kids I have something very difficult to discuss with them, and I told them that I have been told that I have been hurting their feelings and causing them stress, then I apologised to them. I then did the very difficult task of asking them when I changed – and they hit the nail on the head. It started from the time I was diagnosed with Lupus, 7 weeks ago. They also were very clear that they know it is because I am so sick. And I said that is no excuse, I need to change and they need to help me to change.